Germany Muslimah and Muslim Scholars

Hey! Howdy friends? Proudly, this is the second time for me to share article in English to you all. I hope its good enough for me to use it. And I also expect that you’re very welcome with this thing. Well, it’s still (just a few) about Deviantart (another social network). But at this time I guarantee you if this is different. Why?

So then, let’s keep reading… Come on!

Well, now first, I’ll let you read this. Here this…

Tariq Ramadan is one of my favorite Muslim scholars. He once said:

“I am Swiss by nationality, Egyptian by memory, Muslim by religion, European by culture, universalist by principle.”

On this video he’s talking about being a Muslim in Europe:

http://www.deviantart.com/users/outgoing?http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M7GAAGFo2Eo

It’s interesting for both Muslims and Non-muslims for it’s about living together as Europeans (Western citizens respectively).

Recently there are many debates concerning Islam, “Islamism” and “the Muslims” in German policy. And it’s alarming, how everything is lumped together.

People outside are getting afraid of Muslims more and more. Sometimes, when I’m outside in the bus or subway, I feel the desire to shout out: “Look, I’m Muslim! Don’t panic! We’re really normal!”
I’m happy to live here and it’s not like people would attack me or so. It’s just a subliminal suspiciousness, that I feel.

And I’m really disappointed how some of our leading German politicians talk about these things. They always emphasize the Judeo-Christian culture of Germany. But in fact – as Tariq Ramadan (and my professor of cultural history as well) explains – there is a Judeo-Christian-Islamic history and Europe has to view Muslims not as the “other,” but as integral elements of it!

Ok then, what do you get after read that? Something new about Tariq Ramadan? Have you heard about him before? Yeah, I thought equally.🙂 You should to know, the script above was made a few days ago by my friend from Germany. I knew her from social network Deviantart. She is Muslimah, and I really respect and appreciate her. But talking about Tariq Ramadan, it’s been a while, but I just knew about him recently. Hehehe… You too perhaps, but I hope not. I suppose you are more responsive concerning this than me.🙂

Ssstt…. (whispering) I’ve read that he is a grandson of Hasan Al Banna. Not only that, he is the one of man who are include as an innovator in Time Magazine, the title is “Trying to Bridge A Great Divide”. Wow, amazing and unbelieveable! A muslim, you know? It was awesome while I wondered more about him. Even, in wikipedia (however, its the one of the biggest online dictionary), Tariq Ramadan has his own page there. As a muslim, we must proud because we have him. And indeed, most of muslims in Europe respect him.

Hmm, I guess you want to know more about him, doesn’t you? Hehe… Well, here this, a few script about him. (I got it from Time Magazine) J

Tariq Ramadan has the measured delivery of an academic, which is no more than you would expect from a man who used to be a high school principal and wrote his doctoral thesis on Nietzsche. But as the leading Islamic thinker among Europe’s second- and third-generation Muslim immigrants, the Geneva-based university lecturer also inspires a good deal of mistrust—from both Arab Muslims for his Western sensibility and Westerners for his controversial Islamic roots. Ramadan, 38, is the grandson of Hassan al-Banna, founder, in 1928, of the Muslim Brotherhood, an Islamic revival movement that spread from Egypt throughout the Arab world, criticizing Western decadence and advocating a return to Muslim values. Yet Ramadan says, “I’m a European who has grown up here. I don’t deny my Muslim roots, but I don’t vilify Europe either.”

Ramadan’s chosen task is to invent an independent European Islam: “We need to separate Islamic principles from their cultures of origin and anchor them in the cultural reality of Western Europe.” With 15 million Muslims on the Continent, Ramadan believes it’s time to abandon the dichotomy in Muslim thought that has defined Islam in opposition to the West. “I can incorporate everything that’s not opposed to my religion into my identity,” he says, “and that’s a revolution.”

Europe’s Muslims are the product of immigration in the postwar years, when workers were recruited from Turkey, North Africa and the Indian subcontinent to meet the war-shattered Continent’s manpower needs. While the first generation jealously guarded their cultural links with their homeland, their children and grandchildren have often felt torn between two cultures. “What I’m saying is, be proud of who you are,” says Ramadan. “We’ve got to get away from the idea that scholars in the Islamic world can do our thinking for us. We need to start thinking for ourselves.”

That means making European mosques independent of foreign funding and influence. It also means rereading the founding texts and producing a body of Islamic thought in European languages. Ramadan’s recent book, To Be a European Muslim, was written in English; editions in German, Italian and Dutch are all forthcoming. And Ramadan’s message isn’t intended for Muslims alone. “The real question is about spirituality,” he says. “If the presence of Muslims leads Europeans to think about who they are and what they believe in, that has to be positive.” Thanks partly to Ramadan, Islam is on its way to becoming an integral part of Europe’s religious landscape.

How? Its so interesting to find out about condition of muslim in Europe. We must be admiring our brothers and sisters who live there. One of them is my friend, she is Tuffix from Germany (that I told you in early). You may visit her page in DA : http://tuffix.deviantart.com/. May be, we never got something terrible here (in Indonesia). So far, probably, we pretend that we save here, but how about them? Muslim in Europe? (Even muslim in Palestine?).

And now, let’s read it. This is what she felt recently :

“Sometimes, when I’m outside, I really become paranoid. I imagine, what people think about me and my hijab while they are staring at me (even if they don’t do). Then I stop and I think of all the other possible reasons, that make people look at me. And I realize that as Muslims we are often too sensitive and we are at risk to make the same mistakes, that we face: We generalize.

You know, I have many non-muslim friends and I very rarely faced any racist-based acts of hatred. And the few cases were merely ridiculous, alhamdulillah (thank God).

So we need tolerance on both sides. As Muslims we need to leave behind the role of a victim and be more confident – and I mean self-confidence as well as some more trust in our fellow men. We can’t cooperate while being suspicious towards each other.”

Yup, she underlined thats all happened because prejudices! She made a good artwork for this. Her artwork is a picture that include in this note.

Alright then, probably it’s no much longer for me to tell. I hope this article may give you a new knowledge about muslim scholars. Mainly who are in Europe. We must be admiring our brothers and sisters who lived there. One of them is my friend, Tuffix from Germany (that I told you in early). You may visit her page in DA : tuffix.deviantart.com.

–Wish Allah always renew our faith in every sunrise–

Pleased to share with you

Regards,

Farhan Hans

Tinggalkan Balasan

